Buss Areal – vom Industriestandort zum Stadtraum
1923
FROM "CHNOCHENSTAMPFI" TO "BREDELLA".
2019
Easily accessible in the greater Basel area
ca. 2035
FROM THE INDUSTRIAL AREA TO A LIVELY DISTRICT

A new district at Pratteln railway station

Switzerland is growing. This is affecting the large urban conurbations in particular. Around 20 000 new jobs are to be created by the year 2035 in Basel City alone.

This development is not failing to leave its mark on Pratteln. Here, the number of employed persons has risen by around 2500 in the last 10 years and the population has grown by around 1500. This entails a demand for additional housing, along with workplaces and all kinds of infrastructure. All of this needs space.

The requirements to be met when providing this space are no longer what they were: The focus is no longer on the idyllic location surrounded by greenery, but on optimal provision of access via all modes of transport. It is no longer about the view, but about quick reachability, as well as inward densification, so as to counteract Switzerland's urban sprawl. The site formerly occupied by the firms Buss AG and Rohrbogen AG on the north side of Pratteln railway station is an ideal place to create new, modern and attractive living space.

Neighbourhood plans, currently being developed in close cooperation with the municipal and cantonal authorities, are to govern the nature of the conversion of the two plots. In these neighbourhood plans, the building regulations for the site are being redefined. They will include rules on uses, buildings, paths, squares and open spaces, as well as a plan for their spatial positioning.     

Area
Area

The site, currently used for industrial purposes, is to be gradually transformed into a new district. On the one hand, this prevents excess supply. On the other hand, it enables a transformation process that the business operators currently based on the site can cope with.     

Implementation
Implementation

Firstly, the western Rohrbogen AG plot is to be converted. This means that a fully functional neighbourhood with three construction zones and a high-rise up front by the tracks already emerge in the first step.     

Use
Use

There is to be room here for housing, as well as for commercial uses, and room for the old, as well as the new. What is to emerge here is a new way of handling space at easily accessible locations in urban conurbations, in line with the spirit of the times.

Next steps
Next steps

Once the neighbourhood plans are approved, this paves the way for specific planning. The individual construction zones can then be planned. This occurs by means of normal building applications, compiled on the basis of the neighbourhood plans, rather than the general building regulations.     

Bredella – Kreisel Hohenrainstrasse/Salinenstrasse in Pratteln

At the entrance of Pratteln

The Bredella neighbourhood planning encompasses the connected plots formerly occupied by Buss AG and Rohrbogen AG.

The site is bordered by the streets Hohenrainstrasse to the north and Gallenweg to the east, the railway line to the south, and the streets Wasenstrasse and Salinenstrasse to the west.

  • Website online
    A new district right by Pratteln railway station. The website of the urban development project.
  • Pratteln Mitte
    04 June 2019: Public information event at the Pratteln Kultur- und Sportzentrum, 19 – 21 hrs

Buss Areal – vom Industriestandort zum Stadtraum
1923
VON DER «CHNOCHENSTAMPFI» ZU «BREDELLA»
2019
Bestens erschlossen im Grossraum Basel
ca. 2035
VOM INDUSTRIEAREAL ZUM LEBENDIGEN STADTTEIL

Ein neuer Stadtteil direkt am Bahnhof Pratteln

Die Schweiz wächst. Betroffen sind insbesondere die grossen städtischen Ballungsräume. Allein in Basel-Stadt sollen bis 2035 rund 20'000 neue Arbeitsplätze entstehen.

Diese Entwicklung geht auch an Pratteln nicht spurlos vorbei. So ist die Zahl der Beschäftigten in den letzten 10 Jahren um rund 2500 Personen gestiegen, die Bevölkerung um rund 1500 Personen gewachsen. Damit verbunden ist der Bedarf nach zusätzlichem Wohnraum, nach Arbeitsplätzen und nach Infrastruktur aller Art. Das alles braucht Raum.

Die Anforderungen, die bei der Bereitstellung dieses Raums zu erfüllen sind, haben sich gegenüber früher geändert: Im Vordergrund steht nicht mehr die idyllische Lage im Grünen, sondern eine optimale Erschliessung mit allen Verkehrsmitteln. Nicht mehr die Aussicht, sondern die rasche Erreichbarkeit. Und die Verdichtung nach innen, um der Zersiedlung der Schweiz entgegen zu wirken. Das Areal der ehemaligen Buss AG und Rohrbogen AG auf der Nordseite des Bahnhofs Pratteln stellt einen idealen Ort dar, um neuen, zeitgemässen und attraktiven Lebensraum zu schaffen. 

Wie die Umnutzung genau aussehen soll, wird in Quartierplänen geregelt. Hier stehen wir im Moment. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Behörden von Gemeinde und Kanton erarbeiten wir die Bauvorschriften für das Areal. In den Quartierplänen definieren wir Vorschriften zu Nutzungen, Gebäuden, Wegen, Plätzen und Freiräumen ebenso wie einen Plan zu deren räumlicher Verortung. 

Areal
Areal

Das Areal ist heute ein gut funktionierender Gewerbe- und Industriepark. Für die bestehenden Mieter werden daher – ganz im Sinne der gepflegten ganzheitlichen und nachhaltigen Betrachtungsweise – individuelle Lösungen als Ersatz für die bestehenden Mietverhältnisse gesucht. 

Umsetzung
Umsetzung

Als erstes soll in den nächsten vier bis acht Jahren das Areal der Rohrbogen AG im Westen umgenutzt werden. Damit entsteht bereits im ersten Schritt ein voll funktionsfähiges Quartier mit drei Baubereichen und einem Hochhaus vorne am Gleis. 

Nutzung
Nutzung

Das Wohnen soll ebenso Platz haben wie kommerzielle Nutzungen, das Alte ebenso wie das Neue. Entstehen soll so eine dem Zeitgeist entsprechende neue Art des Umgangs mit Raum an gut erschlossener Lage in städtischen Ballungsräumen.

Nächste Schritte
Nächste Schritte

Wenn die Quartierpläne bewilligt sind, wird der Grundstein für konkrete Planungen gelegt sein. Dann können die einzelnen Baufelder beplant werden. Dies geschieht mittels normaler Baugesuche, die auf der Grundlage der Quartierpläne anstatt der generellen Bauvorschriften erarbeitet werden. 

Bredella – Kreisel Hohenrainstrasse/Salinenstrasse in Pratteln

Eingangs Pratteln

Bredella beginnt am Kreisel von der Salinenstrasse herkommend auf Höhe der Hohenrainstrasse Richtung Pratteln.

Das ehemalige Areal der Firmen Buss AG und Rohrbogen AG ist im Norden von der Hohenrainstrasse, im Osten vom Gallenweg, im Süden von der Bahnlinie und im Westen von der Wasen- und der Salinenstrasse begrenzt. 

  • Bredella als Hauptsponsor des FC Pratteln
    Seit Sommer 2019 unterstützt Bredella den FC Pratteln mit einem Hauptsponsoring.
  • Website online
    Ein neuer Stadtteil direkt am Bahnhof Pratteln. Die Website zum städtebaulichen Projekt.